Dementia Alliance International – World Rocks Against Dementia 2019 – Music Webinar – Friday, March 22, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU) – Saturday, March 23, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN)

DAI ROCKS FOR DEMENTIA

WORLD ROCKS AGAINST DEMENTIA (WRAD) 2019

  • Friday, March 22, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU)
  • Saturday, March 23, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN)

Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.


About DAI’s online WRAD2019 event: DAI ‘s vision is that all people with dementia are valued and included. We also have a strong philosophy that working together makes us all stronger, and by doing so, we can and will achieve more. Our 2018 “World Rocks Against Dementia” (WRAD) event was hugely successful, and we are hosting another online event for WRAD this year.

This year, we have many new and original songs, performed just for DAI’s Rock Against Dementia online event, and we thank each and every performer for their support.

We don’t have a fully finalised program yet, but please know it will be fun. We have some live performances (yes, via Zoom), and like last year, there will be time to chat and ask questions about what is it like living with dementia along the way.

Credit goes to Wayne Mesker who started Rock Against Dementia (RAD) in the USA, and Norrms McNamara in the UK whose idea it was to take the event global. By collaborating together, these two men have helped the World Rock Against Dementia (WRAD) all around the world. DAI is proud to be part of the movement, as we all know music is an important part of our lives, and as discovered by the Alive Inside Foundation, is also a powerful change agent for improving the quality of life, memory recall and pure joy for people with dementia.

Opening and closing live performances are again by DAI member Graeme Atkins, who supported by his wife, is a wonderful example of living positively, alongside the very real challenges of a diagnosis of dementia.

Get Your Ticket here


DRAFT PROGRAMME:

  • Live performance by Graeme Atkins: Living Well With Dementia

  • Dr Al Power, supported by: Happy Wanderer

  • Daniella Greenwood: Something For Kate

  • Chris Madsen & Jenny Garbutt: In the Stillness

  • Dubghlas Taylor and the Bay Samba band, Brisbane: tbc

  • Chris Madsen & Jenny Garbutt: It shall always be

  • James McKillop: tbc

  • Veda Meneghetti and The Party Girls: Only Your Heart

  • Kate Swaffer: Sadness, followed by Happiness

  • Live performance by Graeme Atkins: The Minimal Mental Test!

NOTE: WE STILL HAVE MANY PERFORMANCES TO BE ADDED TO OUR PROGRAMME

A note about WRAD, by Norm McNamara, one of the founders of the Purple Angels written in 2018: This all started years ago with the help of Wayne Mesker and the Alive Inside Foundation who had already invented RAD, Rock Against Dementia. It’s certainly not a Purple Angel idea! But what Wayne and I did between us, was to create a WORLDWIDE event out of it, which is why it’s now called the WORLD ROCKS AGAINST DEMENTIA (WRAD). We work as a team and involve as many of those who want to be involved. YES !! Its true its never really attracted mainstream TV or media but the beauty of it is, it doesn’t have to because this is an event BY THE PEOPLE, FOR THE PEOPLE and every year it gets bigger and bigger and every year it will touch MILLIONS across the globe which proves we don’t need big celebrity names to do something like this, it’s a grassroots event supported by some huge dementia organisations like Alzheimer’s Disease international, Dementia Alliance International, Dementia UK and others.


Friday, March 22, 2019 – times (USA/UK/EU/CA):

  • 11:00 am Honolulu
  • 2:00 pm San Francisco USA / Vancouver CA
  • 4:00 pm Des Moines/Chicago/Houston USA
  • 5:00 pm New York USA / oronto CA
  • 9:00 pm London/Glasgow UK
  • 10:00 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Saturday, March 23, 2019 – times (AU/NZ/JP/IND/TWN):

  • 5:00 am Perth/Taipei
  • 7:00 Brisbane
  • 7:30 am Adelaide
  • 8:00 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra
  • 10:00 am Auckland, NZ

The webinar runs for up to 1.5 hours.

Check your time using this link, if not listed above…


COST TO ATTEND:

  • $10 USD – DAI Members
  • $20 USD – NON DAI Members
  • $50 USD – to be used exclusively to support people with dementia to attend conferences
  • DONATION – other
  • NOTE: DAI WRAD-2019 performers will be provided with a complimentary ticket

IMPORTANT NOTE FOR DAI MEMBERS – IF YOU FIND IT TOO EXPENSIVE TO PURCHASE A TICKET, PLEASE CONTACT US FOR A GUESS PASS info@infodai.org

HOW WE USE SOME OF OUR GENERAL REVENUE AND DONATIONS:

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one monthly bank fee
  • $US 50.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 30.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 300.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

IT IS ALSO POSSIBLE TO DONATE DIRECTLY TO DAI USING THIS LINK.

DAI THANKS YOU SINCERELY FOR YOUR GENEROSITY AND SUPPORT.



 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.