Dementia Alliance International Webinar, January 30 / 31, 2019

“Five years on: Why DAI? Where have we been? Where are we going?”

  • Wednesday, January 30, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU)

  • Thursday, January 31, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN)

Please note: this is one event, set in a number of different time zones.


PRESENTERS: Kate Swaffer & John Sandblom

John and Kate are co founders of DAI, and have been active board members from day one of this organization. They were also very in the setting up of DAI prior to the launch on January 1, 2014.

John has lived in central Iowa, in the US for all of his life except for college which was eastern Iowa at the University of Iowa. He spent the majority of his working life in business-to- business sales, first print advertising followed by television advertising and then telecommunications sales. He was diagnosed with Younger Onset Atypical Alzheimer’s Disease at the age of 48 in 2007, by a gerontologist that specialized in dementia.

Kate grew up on a farm in rural South Australia, and has lived in Adelaide Australia since 1977. She commenced her professional career as a nurse, specialising in dementia and aged care, and then worked in operating theatres. She has also worked as a chef, and also in health care sales. She is very active globally for DAI, has published two books on dementia, two poetry books, and is involved in research into dementia at three universities. Kate was diagnosed with younger onset dementia (svPPA) aged 49 by a neurologist in Adelaide.

ABOUT THE WEBINAR: “Five years on: Why DAI? Where have we been? Where are we going?”

With a new diagnosis of dementia every 3 seconds, it is not surprising that DAI has continued to grow since its launch five years ago. John and Kate are both co founders, and are also co hosts of peer to peer support groups as well as very active board members. They are both often asked why and how DAI was set up. In this Webinar, they will cover the history of DAI, provide an overview of what we have achieved to date, and discuss where they see the future of DAI.

The most important part of DAI’s work is the weekly peer to peer support groups for members, and the global advocacy for claiming our human rights and disability rights. This webinar will also be an opportunity for members, families, as well as our sponsors, supporters, academics and professionals working in the field to tell us what they would like to see in terms of DAI’s future direction.

By working together collaboratively, we are all stronger, and can achieve even more than what the original founding members first dreamed of. We welcome everyone to register and join us for this EXCITING Webinar. Without you all, DAI would not be where it is today.


DATES/TIMES:

Wednesday, January 30, 2019 (USA/CA/UK/EU)

10:30 am Honolulu
12:30 pm Oregon Portland/San Francisco USA
12:30 pm Vancouver CA
2:30 pm Des Moines/Chicago USA
3:30 pm New York USA
3:30 pm Toronto CA
8:30 pm London/Glasgow UK
9:30 pm Paris, Munich, Amsterdam, EU

Thursday, January 31, 2019 (AU/NZ/JP/SGP/TWN/CHN)

7:00 am Adelaide AU
6:30 am Brisbane AU
7:30 am Sydney/Melbourne/Canberra/Tasmania AU
4:30 am Perth AU/Taipei TWN/Beijing
5:30 am Tokyo, JP
9:30 am Auckland, NZ

The Webinar runs for 1.5 hours.

Apologies for some of the early or late times; it is really difficult to host one event which suits all time zones; we will record this presentation for those who are unable to attend.

Check your time if not listed above by using this link: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=DAI+Webinar%3A+January+30%2F31%2C+2019&iso=20190131T07&p1=5&ah=1&am=30

We hope to see you there!

Support people with dementia: Donate to DAI

Become a DAI Associate or Strategic Partner today

Volunteer for DAI


COST TO ATTEND:

MEMBERS / CURRENT CARE PARTNERS: FREE
STUDENTS (F/T, UNEMPLOYED): $20:00 USD
ALL OTHERS: $50:00 USD


PLEASE CONSIDER DONATING TO DAI OR BECOMING AN ASSOCIATE OR STRATEGIC PARTNER. WITHOUT YOU, DAI COULD NOT PROVIDE THE SERVICES WE PROVIDE CURRENTLY FOR EVERYONE.

  • $US 5.00 covers the average cost of one of our monthly bank fees
  • $US 60.00 covers the average of the cost of our monthly Zoom subscription fee
  • $US 120.00 covers the average monthly cost of the MailChimp subscription
  • $US 400.00 covers the current cost of 3 months of website management fees

THANK YOU